Projects 2021

Official registration of the Amasiko Greenschool

Although the school was still closed due to the Covid-19 pandemic in October 2020, site inspections by the state school inspectors took place several times during this period. The aim of these assessments was the official registration of the school by the Ugandan education authority. With great commitment from the entire school staff and especially the Technical Director, Frank Akankwasa, this goal has now been achieved. On 15.02.2021, Amasiko Greenschool received the official registration, and on 30.03.2021, Frank Akankwasa proudly received the certificate in Kampala.

The official registration replaces the preliminary permission to operate the school and allows it to teach up to grade 7 and to award the graduates a state-recognised degree.
However, this registration does not include a contribution by the Ugandan state to the costs of running the school.
The following requirements of the school authorities must be carried out:

Construction of a fence

The school authorities require the erection of a fence along the road dividing the school grounds to protect the children.
Amasiko e.V. will cover the costs for the construction of this fence!

The works for the construction of this fence are in full swing and are led by the master mason Kabarebe.

Larger classrooms

The school authorities are requesting 2 new, larger classrooms, a demand that Amasiko e.V. fully supports. The current classrooms can no longer meet the requirements of the ever increasing number of pupils. Amasiko e.V. The teachers and the technical director therefore see the construction of a new school building as the most urgent task. The building that has become too small could then be used for the installation of a library, for the school administration and for a future small health centre for the school and the community.
Amasiko e.V. supports this important project.

NEWS FROM RESEARCH

New research project: Water supply concept for Amasiko Greenschool and Hamukaka village (Uganda) (Cooperation)

As already outlined in “Projects 2020”, the development of a concept for supplying the population with clean drinking water is particularly important for Amasiko e.V. This is being done with the support of the Technical University Darmstadt. We are pleased that the concept was presented in the newsletter of the IWAR Institute.

We are grateful for this support!

‚The Department of Water Supply and Groundwater Protection, in cooperation with the German development association “Amasiko e.V.”, is supporting the social non-profit enterprise Amasiko Greenschool & Resource Center (www.amasiko.org) in Uganda in developing a concept for establishing a hygienically safe water supply. The project area is located in the extreme southwest of the country in the Kabale district near the border to Rwanda on a peninsula at Lake Bunyonyi. The heart of the project is a school complex consisting of several buildings including a kitchen and sanitary facilities.

Based on an analysis of the local framework conditions, it will be examined which of the available water resources (lake water, groundwater, spring water and bank filtrate) are suitable in combination with which technical solutions to improve the water supply situation. In this context, conceptual variants will be developed, in which the socio-economic aspects will also be taken into account. On the basis of an on-site visit, the different variants are then to be examined and the planning made more concrete.‘

Department of Water Supply and Groundwater Protection
Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. nat. techn. Wilhelm Urban
Julian Mosbach, M.Sc.

Source: Newsletter Institute IWAR, TU Darmstadt, edited by the Association for the Promotion of the Institute IWAR e.V. Edition 2 | 2020

Projekte 2021

Offizielle Registrierung der Amasiko Greenschool

Obwohl die Schule aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie im Oktober 2020 noch geschlossen war, fanden in dieser Zeit mehrfach Besuche der staatlichen Schulinspektoren statt. Das Ziel dieser Begutachtungen war die offizielle Registrierung der Schule durch die ugandische Schulbehörde. Mit großem Engagement des gesamten Schulkollegiums und vor allem des Technischen Direktors, Frank Akankwasa, wurde dieses Ziel nun erreicht. Am 15.02.2021 erhielt Amasiko Greenschool die offizielle Registrierung, am 30.03.2021 konnte die Urkunde darüber von Frank Akankwasa in Kampala stolz in Empfang genommen werden.

 

Die offizielle Registrierung ersetzt die bisher nur vorläufig erteilte Erlaubnis zum Betrieb der Schule und gestattet ihr es nun, bis zur 7. Klasse zu unterrichten und den Absolventen einen staatlich anerkannten Abschluss zu verleihen.
Diese Registrierung beinhaltet aber nicht eine Beteiligung des ugandischen Staates an die Kosten des Schulbetriebs.
Folgende Auflagen der Schulbehörde müssen durchgeführt werden:

Errichtung eines Zaunes

Die Schulbehörde verlangt zum Schutz der Kinder die Errichtung eines Zaunes entlang der Straße, die das Schulgelände teilt.                                                   Amasiko e.V.wird die Kosten für die Errichtung dieses Zaunes übernehmen!

                 

Die Arbeiten zur Errichtung dieses Zaunes sind in vollem Gange und werden vom Maurermeister Kabarebe geleitet.

Größere Klassenräume

Die Schulbehörde fordert 2 neue, größere Klassenräume, eine Forderung, die Amasiko e.V. voll unterstützen kann. Die jetzigen Klassenräume entsprechen schon länger nicht mehr den Anforderungen der immer größer werdenden Schülerzahl. Amasiko e.V., das Lehrer*innenkollegium und der Technische Direktor sehen daher die Errichtung eines neuen Schulgebäudes als dringlichste Aufgabe. Das zu klein gewordene Gebäude könnte dann zur Errichtung einer Bibliothek, für die Schulverwaltung und für ein zukünftiges kleines Gesundheitszentrum für Schule und Gemeinde genutzt werden.                                                                                                                  
Amasiko e.V. unterstützt dieses wichtige Vorhaben.

Neuigkeiten aus der Forschung

Neues Forschungsprojekt: Wasserversorgungskonzept für Amasiko Greenschool und das Dorf Hamukaka (Uganda) (Kooperation)

Wie schon in „Projekte 2020“ beschrieben, ist für Amasiko-ev. der Aufbau eines Konzeptes zur Versorgung der Bevölkerung mit sauberem Trinkwasser besonders wichtig. Dies erfolgt mit Unterstützung der TU Darmstadt und wir freuen uns, dass das Konzept in dem Newsletter des Instituts IWAR vorgestellt wurde.

Wir bedanken uns für diese Unterstützung!

Das Fachgebiet Wasserversorgung und Grundwasserschutz unterstützt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem deutschen Förderverein „Amasiko e.V.“ das soziale Non-Profit-Unternehmen Amasiko Greenschool & Resource Center (www.amasiko.org) in Uganda bei der Erarbeitung eines Konzeptes zum Aufbau einer hygienisch einwandfreien Wasserversorgung. Das Projektgebiet befindet sich im äußersten Südwesten des Landes im Distrikt Kabale nahe der Grenze zu Ruanda auf einer Halbinsel am Lake Bunyonyi. Herz des Projekts ist ein Schulkomplex, bestehend aus mehreren Gebäuden einschließlich Küche und Sanitäranlage.

Basierend auf einer Analyse der örtlichen Randbedingungen soll geprüft werden, welche der verfügbaren Wasserressourcen (See-, Grund-, Quellwasser und Uferfiltrat) in Verbindung mit welchen technischen Lösungen geeignet sind, um die Situation der Wasserversorgung zu verbessern. Hierbei werden Konzeptvarianten erstellt, in welchen auch die sozioökonomischen Aspekte Berücksichtigung finden. Auf Grundlage eines Aufenthaltes vor Ort sollen anschließend die verschiedenen Varianten geprüft und die Planung kokretisiert werden.

Fachgebiet Wasserversorgung und Grundwasserschutz
Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. nat. techn. Wilhelm Urban
Julian Mosbach, M.Sc.

Quelle: Newsletter Institut IWAR der TU Darmstadt, herausgegeben vom Verein zur Förderung des Institutes IWAR e.V. Ausgabe 2 | 2020